Pretty Dishes


Morning Mix
April 30, 2011, 11:28 am
Filed under: Recipes

I have fallen in love with a new breakfast dish. I have eaten it for the past week-plus, and it has really had me looking forward to the first meal of the day (and feeling great after eating it).

The idea came about while I was contemplating what I could make for an interesting weekday breakfast that would be fast (under 5 minutes), simple (not too many ingredients, especially those needing any prep), and substantive (to hold me over until lunchtime). Cereal has always bored me to tears, even when it’s dressed up with fresh fruit, and it never seems to keep me full for more than a couple of hours. Muffins and toast can be tasty, but it’s not the best option for everyday breakfasts, and I seem to wind up feeling sluggish and then hungry by late morning. Eggs by themselves aren’t my cup of tea, and aside from needing a pan at the ready, prepping other items to add to a scramble throws out keeping it quick. And while I still enjoy the Green Monster smoothie, it gets to be a bit much for every morning, so it’s nice to have an alternative.

I wandered around the grocery store last week and tried to come up with something suitable. My first inspiration was the Bob’s Red Mill flaxseed meal I picked up. I started to think about what I could sprinkle it on. Cottage cheese came to mind, and while I don’t eat it plain, I recalled how much I enjoyed a snack of cottage cheese with sliced pears growing up. (Cottage cheese with fruit is nothing revolutionary, of course.) That is a pretty soft combination, so I decided to add some crunchy nuts into the mix. Add a drizzle of honey, and there you have it—a delicious and nutritious light meal with plenty of texture that fills you up.

Cottage Cheese with Nuts and Fruit

Not everyone is a fan of cottage cheese, and if you haven’t had it dressed up, I can understand why, since it’s pretty dull on its own. If you’re on the fence about it though, give this a go and see if it sways you. Pretty much any berry or sliced fruit will work, but my personal favorite is fresh strawberries. This recipe makes enough for one person, but a fun idea would be to distribute cottage cheese among bowls and then lay out a few topping options for family or guests to make their own combinations.

2 tablespoons slivered almonds
1 cup cottage cheese
1 tablespoon honey
1 teaspoon whole ground flaxseed meal
1/2 cup blueberries, sliced strawberries, diced pears, or other fruit

Preheat the broiler.

Spread the almonds on a small baking pan. Toast under the broiler for 1 to 2 minutes, or until evenly browned, shaking and turning the pan halfway through. Watch closely to prevent burning.

Put the cottage cheese in a bowl. Drizzle with the honey and sprinkle with the flaxseed meal. Top with the almonds and fruit. Stir and enjoy.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

