Pretty Dishes


Creamy Corn Soup
January 30, 2011, 7:11 pm
Filed under: Recipes

I’ve been on a soup kick these past couple of months, as one is wont to do in the wintertime. I’m a huge soup lover regardless of season, but certainly there’s even greater pleasure in a big steaming bowl once the weather turns chilly and wet (for most of us, anyway). I have compiled quite a collection of recipes and cookbooks over the years, and soups comprise no small portion. I probably make homemade soup an average of three or four times each month, especially this time of year. As such, I have a backlog of recipes and photos to share here.

By and large, my favorite soups fall within the chowder category. Broth-based soups and stews have their place, but I almost always prefer a creamier base. I like for my soup to have a smooth, thick consistency, and all the better when it also contains little bits of vegetable, potato, and/or meat to bite into. Even when it’s just a puree, I find that chopped green onions sprinkled over the top provide just enough crunch to make things interesting.

I sought out this recipe from Bon Appétit when I was in the mood for a corn chowder. This one in particular appealed because it comes together quickly and is all about the corn, with a few flavorful additions.

I served the soup with baked king crabmeat—basted with a garlic-lemon-butter sauce—which proved to be an excellent companion and made for a very rich and filling meal. I topped the soup with a few pieces, and we ate the rest of the crabmeat dipped in the basting sauce. Incredible.

Creamy Corn Soup

2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) butter
1 large red bell pepper, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
One 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes in juice
2 cups (or more) water
2 tablespoons chopped canned chipotle chilies
Two 14.75-ounce cans cream-style corn
One 16-ounce package frozen corn
1 cup whipping cream
1 teaspoon dried oregano
Chopped fresh cilantro or green onions

Melt the butter in a heavy large pot over medium-high heat. Add the bell pepper, onion, and garlic; sauté until the onion is tender, about 5 minutes. Add the tomatoes with juices to the pot and cook for 2 minutes. Combine the water and chipotle chilies in a blender and puree. Mix the puree and cream-style corn into the pot. Bring the soup to boil, then reduce the heat to medium and simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the frozen corn, cream, and oregano; simmer for 5 minutes. Garnish with cilantro or green onions.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I don’t usually make soups but oh my god, this looks amazing. Especially those delicate strips of crab meat on the top.

This is the perfect February food. I might have to attempt this one.

Comment by Tara




Leave a Reply

