Pretty Dishes


Ultimate Fudge
December 19, 2010, 7:00 pm
Filed under: Recipes

Just in time for your last-minute baking sprees and holiday gatherings, I must share the recipe for what is most certainly the best fudge I’ve ever tasted.

About two weeks ago, a coworker brought in a tin filled with small squares of homemade fudge. I tried a piece and was astonished by how good it was. Instead of being on the dry, chalky side, it was creamy and soft and smoothly melted in my mouth. It was rich and satisfying and yet I couldn’t stop myself from grabbing another piece (and then another later in the day). It was like eating a truffle. I knew there had to be more to it than chocolate, butter, and cream/milk. I immediately requested the recipe.

What was the “secret” ingredient that made the fudge so delectable? Marshmallow creme.

Turns out using marshmallow creme in fudge is no new idea, though it was new to me. Apparently my husband’s great-grandmother used it in her classic recipe too.

I made the fudge myself last weekend with much success. It’s a fairly simple preparation that just requires a watchful eye and regular stirring. Fudge is a perfect quick holiday treat, and this recipe in particular is sure to impress the friends and family who haven’t yet experienced fudge’s true potential.

Ultimate Fudge

Since fudge is pretty much all about the chocolate, it (like truffles) should showcase the best you can find. I used Ghirardelli baking chips. Also, if you like nuts, feel free to mix in 1/2 cup or so before transferring the fudge to the pan. I prefer my fudge unadulterated.

One 7-ounce jar marshmallow creme
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
2/3 cup evaporated milk [As a comparison, I might try sweetened condensed next time as other recipes do.]
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups high-quality milk chocolate chips
1 cup high-quality semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 to 1 teaspoon flavored extract (vanilla, raspberry, orange) or liqueur, optional [I elected not to use any in mine.]

Line a 7-by-11-inch or 8-by-8-inch pan with parchment paper or aluminum foil. (Either of these sizes will result in fudge pieces approximately 3/4- to 1-inch thick; if you want smaller pieces, prepare a larger pan.) Set aside.

In a large saucepan over medium heat, combine the marshmallow cream, sugar, evaporated milk, butter, and salt. Bring to a full boil, then cook for 5 minutes, stirring constantly.

Remove from the heat and pour in the chocolate chips. Stir until the chocolate is melted and the mixture is smooth. Stir in the extract. Pour into the prepared pan. Chill in refrigerator for 2 hours, or until firm. Store at room temperature in an airtight container for up to 10 days or freeze for later use.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’m typically not a huge fudge fan (unlike Curt who devotes an entire food group to it), but these look delish! I love anything marshmallow-y so this will be the recipe I try if I’m ever feeling up to the challenge.

Comment by Tara




Leave a Reply

