Pretty Dishes


Status Update
September 22, 2010, 12:05 am
Filed under: Recipes

Hello! Anybody there? I apologize for my absence. To say that I’ve been rather preoccupied would be quite an understatement. I have hardly had a moment to think much less pull together homemade meals, pick up my camera, or visit this site. It has been weeks since I’ve done any of the above. It has been disappointing to set aside personal interests temporarily, but I’ll be back at it again soon enough.

I am visiting New York City for the next week, and I’ll be relishing some delicious treats and special meals. One of the highlights is a visit to Les Halles (Anthony Bourdain’s baby). I may also dig into a piece of the infamous Crack Pie at Milk Bar (sold by the slice). It should be a fun trip, though it does mean even longer before I’m back here. The good news is that after I return I should have a little more time on my hands.

In the meantime, I wanted to quickly share a recipe that is probably old news but worth mentioning anyway. As I’ve mentioned, while I enjoy a nice brunch now and again, I don’t care too much for breakfast foods. Which isn’t to say I don’t struggle to find something quick, interesting, and filling to each eat morning before work. Cereal doesn’t interest me and I don’t have the time for eggs and hash browns, so usually I settle on toast. It gets old after a while.

I had heard about this drink called Green Monster, which has apparently sparked a whole movement even. I was pretty skeptical of a spinach-banana blend and didn’t bother to investigate this smoothie-like beverage. That is, until M mentioned that she had had the same reservations but actually liked it. So I thought, How bad could it be?

Not bad in the least, it turns out. It’s really rather good. I have one just about every morning now, and it actually keeps me full for several hours, despite the fact that I am not eating anything with it.

Now, if you hate spinach, will you hate this? Possibly. But the spinach is pretty much obliterated during blending. If you hate banana, will you hate this? Again, possibly, but if you can find a banana of just the right ripeness (not too green, not too brown), the flavor blends pretty seamlessly. Will you have a slight film on your teeth after you down this? Yes.

The important thing is that this beverage is healthy, filling, and interesting. You feel good about drinking it and it’s tasty. Try not to be alarmed by the near-neon green color.

I’m a fan of the original (“virgin”) Green Monster. I also tried the Blueberry-Banana Green Monster, but I found that I didn’t like the flavor as much. This comes together really quickly and is easy to drink throughout the morning as you get ready.

Virgin Green Monster

2 cups organic spinach
1 1/2 cups vanilla soy milk (or cow’s milk with a splash of vanilla extract)
1 1/2 teaspoons flaxseed oil
1 banana, sliced
Ice

Place the spinach, soy milk, flaxseed oil, and banana into a blender. Blend on the highest setting for 1 minute or so. Add ice and blend on the ice setting. Pour into a large glass and enjoy!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

