Pretty Dishes


Blueberry Cinnamon Scones
August 9, 2010, 11:22 pm
Filed under: Recipes

The last time M and I got together at her place, she told me she had just tasted gluten-free baked goods and wanted to try making some at home. I documented the process of her replicating the Blueberry Cinnamon Scones she had had, recipe courtesy of Flying Apron’s Gluten-Free & Vegan Baking Book. She was ecstatic about how surprisingly delicious the scones were and wanted to give them a go herself. It was her first attempt at gluten-free baking, and technically it was mine too, though I can hardly say I played any part in the outcome as my hand was firmly glued to the camera. In a totally biased opinion, since I was the project editor on the cookbook, Flying Apron’s Baking Book is an excellent resource for gluten-free bakers. Even though I haven’t made anything at home myself, I have sampled plenty of what the bakery has to offer. I’m loathe to admit my general dislike of whole grain/wheat/special flour bakery items, and even I enjoyed the offerings. And I really enjoyed these scones.

Note that gluten-free doughs do not have the same consistency as standard doughs. They are stickier and usually benefit from chilling in the refrigerator or freezer for a few hours. Some of M’s other comments: Smaller scones are good, but if they are too thin, they tend to fall apart, so bulk them up. Also, with more mixing comes a denser scone; mixing the dough in a stand mixer will result in a fluffier, more crumbly texture. (Am I forgetting anything?)

Blueberry Cinnamon Scones

Gluten-free or not, the combination of blueberries and cinnamon is spectacular. You can find all of the gluten-free (and other) flours from the always excellent Bob’s Red Mill. This recipe will yield 8 larger scones or roughly 12 smaller scones.

2 3/4 cups brown rice flour
1 1/2 cups plus 1 tablespoon garbanzo bean flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 cup canola oil
1 cup organic whole cane sugar
1 cup rice milk
3/4 cup frozen blueberries

Combine the brown rice flour, garbanzo bean flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine the canola oil and whole cane sugar until well mixed. With the mixer on low speed, add the flour mixture and rice milk alternately, a little at a time, until well mixed, about 3 minutes. Chill the dough for at least 3 hours or overnight (preferable).

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Dust your counter liberally with brown rice flour. Knead the blueberries into the chilled dough and then pat the dough into a 2-inch-thick disc or log. Cut the disc or log into 8 or more wedges. Place the wedges onto a greased or parchment-lined baking sheet, spaced evenly apart. Bake until the scones are golden brown and firm to the touch, about 30 minutes.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

These photos make my mouth water! I too have made these scones and LOVE them.

Comment by christi

So, I think the key to a proper texture is a precise balance between over-mixing and under-mixing. I mean, that sounds like a no-brainer, but seriously: I think this is the key. Christi, who’s scones were dense, probably over-mixed using a hand mixer. I, using a stand mixer and not being sure what gluten-free dough was supposed to look like, most likely UNDER mixed. So … mix it up a bit. But not too much. Ya? ;)

Comment by M




Leave a Reply

