Pretty Dishes


The Recap Show
July 18, 2010, 11:52 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Where on earth have I been? All over the place, actually.

First I was in Chicago, where I didn’t get to sample too much in the way of special meals worth documenting (as I had hoped), but that isn’t to say I didn’t eat pretty well. Since I don’t intend to use this site as a travel/restaurant forum, I will spare the list of places I visited, but in the pizza department I will make mention of the very enjoyable deep dish I had at Lou Malnati’s (I ordered The “Lou”). And just for fun, here are my favorite photos from the trip.

(There’s that lovely sister again . . . )

A couple of weeks later it was off on a family camping trip. The evening we left I made Dorie Greenspan’s Garlic Scape Pesto and mixed it into mini penne pasta. I don’t have anything to show for the meal because we were in a hurry to get out the door, but Dorie’s photos pretty well represent the dish. I was excited when garlic scapes were listed as part of my CSA delivery as I have always been curious about how they tasted and in what ways they could be used. I did a quick Web search for recipes and settled on this pesto since I had all of the ingredients on hand.

The pesto was very fresh and good, but I would disagree with Dorie’s assertion that garlic scapes have a “mellow garlic flavor”—the garlic flavor was so pungent and overpowering as to be almost beyond enjoyment. I am a huge garlic lover, so it wasn’t that I couldn’t handle the taste, I was just very surprised about how strong the scapes really were. I think next time I would sauté them a little before making the pesto or another recipe. I’d like to see how a little heat might produce a milder result.

Finally, there are the new additions to my setup: a flash soft box, a tabletop fill light, and a laptop.

Most exciting is the acquisition of my MacBook, which allows me to edit photos wherever I please (a favorite spot being my patio table in the sunshine) instead of in the dark basement office where our desktop computer resides. I can shoot tethered to the laptop or download photos immediately after a session. It also allows me more convenience in posting, which should mean greater frequency. All in all some excellent improvements that I hope will contribute to future success.

So is there anything you’d like me to touch on or perhaps recipes I should try as I get going again? I’m still compiling my mock cookbook recipes, you know . . .

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

