Pretty Dishes


Book Club Menu: Seven-Layer Bars
July 5, 2010, 11:31 pm
Filed under: Recipes

I’m skipping right ahead to the dessert I made for book club because, well, it’s the recipe and photos I have all ready to post about at this moment. And why not? Everyone loves a good dessert, and boy is this ever a good dessert.

I would be hard-pressed to decide on an answer if asked what my all-time favorite treat was. Some days I might say fresh strawberries with cream, other days I might go with classic chocolate chip cookies, and yet another I would say s’mores. I’m no stranger to sweets, so don’t take it lightly when I say these layer bars are possibly in my top five (definitely in the top ten). The perfect combination of sweet and salty ingredients make these bars real crowd-pleasers. I dare you and your guests to stop at just one. They are also fantastic for whipping together at the last minute as the recipe takes no time at all.

Seven-Layer Bars

For book club, I did six-layer bars (omitting the nuts) for allergy reasons, but I think they are extra special with crushed cashews on top. This recipe is very adaptable for different tastes, though I assure you it’s pretty perfect as written.

1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup crushed graham crackers
1 cup sweetened coconut flakes
One 11.5-ounce package milk chocolate chips
One 11-ounce package butterscotch chips
One 14-ounce can sweetened condensed milk
1 cup cashews, almonds, peanuts, or walnuts, chopped (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Melt the butter in an 8-1/2-by-11-inch pan. Add each layer of ingredients one at a time (do not stir or mix) in the order listed.

If using an aluminum pan, bake for 30 minutes; if using a glass dish, bake for 27 minutes. There will be browning around the edges, but do not overbake. Once cooled, cut into bars and serve.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

