Pretty Dishes


Gravlax
June 29, 2010, 9:50 pm
Filed under: City Arts

Why hello there! Thanks for sticking around through my absence. Time sure gets away from a gal after returning from vacation, but I’m finally back in the swing of things and ready to get to it.

Before I left I was assigned a gravlax recipe for City Arts. I have never done any kind of curing or even marinating beyond a few hours, so this was all-new territory. I do like a nice piece of lox now and again, but in general it isn’t something I am dying to attempt at home (best to leave it to the professionals). Therefore, this was a fun experiment, but I’m unlikely to make it again of my own accord.

I was a little concerned about photographing this recipe because I wasn’t sure it was going to be all that visually appealing. Raw (and cured) fish isn’t the prettiest sight in the world, so perhaps because of this I worked extra hard to find some interesting compositions and setups.

I love the final photo. In fact, I would venture to say it is one of my favorite food photos I’ve taken to date. Everything seems to work really well together, plus the lighting was just right.

It’s good to be back!

(Recipe and select photos here.)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

