Pretty Dishes


Leek, Arugula, and Goat Cheese Pizza
June 8, 2010, 2:34 pm
Filed under: City Arts

Somewhat randomly, I have been on a bit of a handcrafted pizza kick lately, and it started when Corey and I were trying to decide on the next City Arts recipe. He asked if I had any ideas, and I mentioned that I had some nice leeks at home and could do something with them—a soup? risotto? pizza?

Leek, arugula, and goat cheese pizza it was. A winning combination to be sure. Because the leeks are slowly sautéed they become almost caramelized, lending a sweetness to every bite, and are complemented by the rich, tangy goat cheese and peppery arugula.

I’ve only made pizza dough once or twice before, and since my bread/dough skills aren’t top-notch I was happy to have an excuse to practice. The dough turned out well enough (though my yeast was a little out of date and didn’t rise as much), but if you don’t have time to roll out your own and want a shortcut, Trader Joe’s has excellent (and cheap!) pre-made pizza dough.

I feel like I’ve had more pizza than usual in the weeks since (several at restaurants), but the latest two times have been the same one and my new all-time favorite: a shaved asparagus three-cheese pizza. I did photograph this amazing pie and will post the recipe soon. I don’t think it’s exaggerating to say it may very well be the best homemade pizza ever. (Not to be a tease or anything . . . )

(Recipe and select photos here.)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

