Pretty Dishes


Mock Cookbook Contender: Celery Soup
May 21, 2010, 10:03 pm
Filed under: Mock Cookbook, Recipes

I’ve been a little busier than I thought I might be, so I haven’t come up with a final list for my mock cookbook, meaning it is unlikely I will have it finished by July as originally hoped. However, I do still want to take advantage of the long summer days and limit my deadline extension, so my revised goal is to finish the project by the start of September. I have been gathering unique dishes, napkins and place mats, and other accessories for my styling and setups, so I feel pretty prepared in that regard. I will also be attending a food photography workshop in the next month (more on that later) and have just purchased a highly recommended tabletop light source for fill and low light situations. In the meantime, I will continue to keep my eye out for a variety of recipes that will photograph well.

This lovely green celery soup is one such recipe. It is composed of inexpensive ingredients, takes little hands-on time to prepare, and has a fresh, bright flavor. If you’re concerned it will taste like a big bowl of puréed raw celery, don’t be. It has a base of celery, sure, so if you absolutely can’t stand the vegetable this may not be for you, but the soup’s flavor is more complex and satisfying than you might expect. This make a great first course as a light summer soup, and naturally, I suggest pairing it with Brie Green Onion Toasts, especially if you serve the soup as a main course.

Celery Soup with Dill Swirl

2 teaspoons olive oil
6 green onions, chopped
4 cups chopped celery with leaves (about 1 pound)
4 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth or vegetable broth
2 medium white-skinned potatoes, peeled and cut into 1-inch pieces
1/4 teaspoon celery seeds
3 tablespoons heavy cream
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 tablespoons plain nonfat yogurt or crème fraîche
1 teaspoon minced fresh dill or tarragon plus 6 sprigs for garnish

Heat the oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add the green onions and sauté for 2 minutes. Add the celery and leaves, chicken broth, potatoes, and celery seeds; bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium; cover and simmer until vegetables are tender, about 15 minutes.

Using an immersion blender, purée the soup until smooth. Alternatively, purée in batches in a blender, then return the soup to the pot. Place pot over low heat to keep warm. Stir in heavy cream. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Mix the yogurt and dill in a small bowl. Drizzle each soup serving with the yogurt mixture. Garnish with dill sprigs and serve immediately.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh my gosh I love these photos! Makes me want to make the soup all over again! Have fun at your workshop :)

Comment by Christi




Leave a Reply

