Pretty Dishes


Read: The Frugal Foodie Cookbook
May 17, 2010, 2:58 pm
Filed under: Books

Continuing with my checking out cookbooks from the library to determine their merit and potential for a permanent spot in my cookbook collection, I recently finished reading through The Frugal Foodie Cookbook. This cookbook was put together by Alanna Kaufman and Alex Small, two students who blog about creating “foodie” meals for less money on their site, Two Fat Als. While I’m not a reader of their blog (they rarely post new content, and I don’t find the site all that compelling), they have compiled quite a number of recipes over the years.

As for the cookbook, I’ll focus on the positives, though I wouldn’t give it a wholehearted recommendation. Overall I found that this cookbook is best for students and others who may not have much money or time but want something more than takeout or freezer meals, and especially those who are newer to the kitchen. All of the recipes are a single page and quite uncomplicated. I think this may have been good to have around when I was in college myself, just learning the cooking ropes and having to stretch my dollar a long way (but not knowing how). Now, however, I was only drawn to about ten recipes, most of which can be had via Epicurious and elsewhere.

The headnotes aren’t very inspiring nor the recipes all that groundbreaking, but the book is inexpensive and includes some decent basics. (You should pretty much ignore their cost-per-meal/serving calculations though . . . I found quite a few errors in that regard.) If you are a fairly adept cook, scan the list of recipes on their website (or check the book out at the library as I did), but spend your cookbook money elsewhere.

Some recipes I jotted down (a few of which can be found on their blog):

  • Grilled Peach and Shrimp Crostini
  • Gorgonzola Pizza with Radicchio and Asian Pears
  • Miso and Scallion Salmon Burgers
  • Roasted Red Pepper Soup
  • Butternut Squash and Apple Soup
  • Banana-Chocolate Muffins
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

