Pretty Dishes


Mushroom and Leek Soup with Thyme Cream
May 3, 2010, 10:35 pm
Filed under: Recipes

Soup and I are best friends, which isn’t to say I’m not picky about which soups I will allow into my life, but I can usually tell by a quick glance at the ingredient list whether or not I’ll be in it for the long haul. This is one such soup. A few weeks ago I was searching Epicurious.com for some good mushroom recipes and came across this mushroom and leek soup. I may have said it before, and I’m sure I will again, but I swoon for the combination of mushrooms with thyme; add a couple of leeks, some chicken broth, and a little cream to round it out, and I’m sold.

I made this recipe as written aside from one modification—I used a combination of cremini and shiitake mushrooms (about a 3 to 1 ratio). After having made the soup (and thoroughly enjoying it), I have two comments. The first is that whipping the cream is completely pointless aside from presentation purposes. It melts upon contact with the hot soup, so all the time spent whipping is for naught come time to eat. Therefore I recommend just steeping the thyme in the unwhipped cream for a couple of hours as the recipe calls for and then stirring 1 tablespoon or so into each bowl of soup as it is served. My second note is that this is absolutely fantastic after sitting for a few hours or overnight. Prepare it the day before serving if you can (up to the point of adding the cream of course) and then reheat later.

I served this with a salad and Brie Green Onion Toasts, which deserved a post all their own . . .

Mushroom and Leek Soup with Thyme Cream

1/2 cup heavy cream
3 teaspoons chopped fresh thyme, divided
6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, divided
2 pounds cremini and shiitake mushrooms, cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices (about 10 1/2 cups)
3 large leeks, white and pale green parts only, cut into 1/4-inch dice (2 1/2 cups)
6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
6 cups chicken stock or canned low-sodium chicken broth
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
3/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

