Pretty Dishes


My First Le Creuset
April 11, 2010, 11:25 pm
Filed under: Kitchen Wares

As any home cook obsessed with cookware is likely to be, I have coveted Le Creuset enameled ovens, stoneware, and related accessories for many years. Last year I bought what was technically my very first Le Creuset product—a small spatula. It is my very favorite spatula, but it was also more than I would normally pay for one. Such is the case with their cookware: it is phenomenal quality and lasts a lifetime, but your average person isn’t going to be able to acquire more than one or two pieces given the somewhat prohibitive cost.

I do already have a Dutch oven that I received as a wedding gift last summer, and I really love it. It’s a Martha Stewart Collection 7-quart pot. It’s very reasonably priced (and even on sale right now), and aside from needing to be careful so as not to chip the enamel (which isn’t as well done as higher-end brands), it’s a great pot that I use regularly. That didn’t stop me from drooling over my friend’s gorgeous collection of Le Creusets, or from wanting the real thing myself though.

Recently I was forwarded a Craigslist post advertising Le Creuset cookware for sale at cost because a local kitchen shop had closed its doors and was selling off all stock. I requested a list of available items, all of which were discounted approximately 50 percent off the retail price. This was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, and I was thrilled to jump at it. I only wish I could have bought half a dozen more.

Here is what I ended up with:

A 3.5-quart round oven in Flame. Goregous. I’ve already used it to perfectly caramelize onions.

An 8-quart stockpot in Dune.

If you’d like the contact information for the woman selling these (and more), I’d be happy to provide it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

