Pretty Dishes


Quiche Lorraine
March 13, 2010, 11:06 pm
Filed under: City Arts

One of the City Arts recipe assignments I enjoyed the most was Quiche Lorraine. It was fun to prepare and photograph, and although I’m not a big quiche eater, this one was really good. I may make it again with spinach or green onions in place of the bacon to compare.

I got the pastry crust recipe from Epicurious, and it was a real winner. I followed the instructions exactly using my food processor to make the dough, and the result was perfect. I don’t think I could have done it as well by hand. I am wondering if I would have the same excellent results when making my next batch of scone dough that way. I will have to try it out. In any case, I highly recommend this crust recipe for any quiche, tart, or similar baked good.

As for the quiche itself, the amount of time involved lends this to a more special-occasion brunch, but I think you’ll find it worth the effort.

My favorite photo is definitely the quiche slice on the plate. My runner-up is either the full baked quiche or the quiche with a missing slice. (Look at that golden melted cheesy goodness!)

(Recipe and select photos here.)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

