Pretty Dishes


Chocolate Truffles with Sea Salt
March 6, 2010, 10:56 pm
Filed under: Recipes

This recipe is courtesy of Pioneer Woman, and the second I read it last October, I bookmarked the page to make the truffles immediately. Oh my are they good. So good that my dad asked me to make him an entire batch as his only Christmas gift. (I did.) They’re also very easy to make, though I suggest a setup that allows you to roll the dozens of little truffle balls (as well as when coating them) in front of the TV to avoid boredom.

I followed the recipe exactly (including her specific Ghirardelli baking bar combination for the truffle centers) aside from one difference: instead of using a generic meltable chocolate for coating the truffles, I made mine with melted Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips. So worth it.

The second time I made them I used a splash of Cointreau in place of the vanilla extract, which I really liked. Also, for both batches I’ve done half with sea salt and half without. I think they are great both ways, and some people aren’t keen on the salt with chocolate thing, so you’ve got that covered. Unless you eat them all yourself, that is. I wouldn’t blame you.

I will make these again and again. They really are a perfect homemade gift and an excellent choice for parties.

I’m pretty pleased with these delectable photos, which are from my first truffle batch about five months ago.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh. My. God. You must give me one next time you make these. Beautiful!

Comment by Erin




Leave a Reply

