Pretty Dishes


Mushroom Stock and Sauce
February 23, 2010, 11:32 pm
Filed under: City Arts

Another excellent recipe I tested and shot for City Arts was homemade mushroom stock. With this I made a mushroom sauce for pasta, and oh was it good. This stock is similarly great for making a risotto (especially this one) or soup where homemade stock really highlights and enhances the flavor of the dish.

I’m also pretty pleased with this batch of photos, and felt during this shoot like I was finally getting the hang of in-camera adjustments to compensate for my kitchen lighting and photo tone/color. I still have plenty of off days (usually it reflects a lack of patience with getting the shot . . . often because I’m hungry!), but I hope to keep moving in the right direction. My favorites of the bunch are the strained stock and the plated pasta.

(Recipe and select photos here.)

Note that the only difference between the recipe and my stock is the addition of a leek, just because I had one.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

