Pretty Dishes


Breakfast for dinner (or lunch . . . or breakfast)
January 31, 2010, 8:14 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’ve never been one to go nuts about breakfast foods. I can’t really explain it except to say that I much prefer lunch or dinner to breakfast. My daily routine is to have a quick bowl of cereal or piece of toast with peanut butter before I head out the door for work. On the weekends I will often do a bit more, like cook eggs with hash browns or toast, but we rarely go out for breakfast or brunch, as seems to be a recent hipster trend.

I can say that I absolutely love great hash browns anytime, and this love is enhanced by ketchup and a runny fried egg dripping all over them. Otherwise I could really take or leave egg dishes. (I’m very picky about preparation and get tired of the taste/texture quickly, so usually I avoid them.) We recently bought a gargantuan box of hash browns at Costco, so I’ve been making them at least once every weekend.

Never before have I craved breakfast for dinner until last week though. I was considering what to make that night, and I just couldn’t let go of the thought of hash browns with wilted spinach, poached eggs, and hollandaise sauce. It was excellent. Hash browns in place of English muffin is a nice alternative for the Benedict preparation.

Another “breakfast” I made for myself recently was a little more unusual. I’m a big lover of pairing red Anjou pears with Gorgonzola, so I did so on some pieces of crusty French bread. I placed it under the broiler for about 2 minutes and this was the result. Yum.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Reading this, I immediately thought of a traditional Swiss dish called “Rösti,” which is essentially a breakfast-for-dinner plate of cheesy (Gruyere-cheesy) hash browns topped by an egg and some type of bacon. I ordered a veggie version once that was just the cheesy hash browns topped with roasted pear–yum! Sounds like something you might like. :)

Comment by Brook

oh man. I just got red Anjou pears in my csa box. I believe this will be my new ‘breakfast of champions.’

Comment by meosima




Leave a Reply

