Pretty Dishes


Dilly Beans
January 23, 2011, 11:40 am
Filed under: Recipes

This recipe comes from an excellent cookbook I worked on called Good Fish: Sustainable Seafood Recipes from the Pacific Coast. (If you need solid, simple seafood recipes featuring West Coast fish sources you don’t have to worry about depleting, this is your source.)

Becky Selengut uses these quick-pickled green beans to accompany her pan-fried trout. I was drawn to the recipe while seeking out an accompaniment to some Bloody Marys for a weekend brunch. Dilly Beans seemed like a great choice.

They are not only perfect for Bloody Marys, they are perfect for snacking on, too. When I made them, I largely stayed true to the original recipe, with one major difference: I did not have any coriander seed on hand, so I made mine without. This ultimately affected the flavor, so I would be sure to add them in next time, though I did try to compensate by adding a few crushed garlic cloves. (Next time I would include both.)

I used the bagged haricots vert sold at Costco because they are delicate and beautifully uniform. I highly recommend a thinner, younger, more tender bean since the recipe doesn’t call for blanching, though I personally may do so for 30 seconds to 1 minute next time since even after a day or two of soaking, the beans were just the teensiest, tiniest bit too fibrous for my taste. The beans don’t stay hot enough long enough to truly cook, so be sure to taste a raw one and confirm that you’re okay with just a slightly more wilted version of it as your finished result before proceeding with the recipe.

It is easy enough to halve, double, or otherwise adjust the yield of this recipe based on your needs. I made a full recipe and put my beans in two large sterilized canning jars (but did not process them for long-term storage). We really only made it through one full jar using them in multiple Bloody Marys, so we raced to snack on the remainder as the two-week expiration approached. Next time I would only make half a batch for that purpose, however, if using them as intended (to accompany a meal) or for setting out at a party with other appetizers, a full recipe is just about right.

Dilly Beans

1/2 pound green beans, trimmed
1 cup white vinegar or apple cider vinegar [I would cut by a few tablespoons]
1 cup water
[6 to 8 garlic cloves]
1 bay leaf
1 tablespoon sugar
1 tablespoon salt
1/2 teaspoon whole coriander seeds
1/2 teaspoon whole black peppercorns

Place the green beans in a shallow heatproof container [or into sterilized canning jars].

In a medium saucepan, combine the vinegar, water, [garlic], bay leaf, sugar, salt, coriander seeds, and peppercorns, and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer for 5 minutes. Pour the hot vinegar mixture over the green beans, making sure the beans are fully submerged.

After the mixture has cooled, cover the container and refrigerate for at least 24 hours (the flavor improves after 48 hours). Dilly beans will keep in the refrigerator for about 10 days.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Wow, I never thought about using the beans for a bloody mary – brilliant! I am cooking ALL 75 of the recipes in Becky’s book this summer and blogging about it daily…and I really enjoyed your take on this one element. Thanks for sharing!
Karen

Comment by Karen Rosenzweig




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

